RULES FOR VOTING ON THE POST-SEASON AWARDS BY MEMBERS OF THE PANELS FOR THE NORTH AMERICAN SPRINT CAR POLLS

- I. AUTHORIZATION By authorization of the Board of Directors of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation, the three voting panels ('360', '410', Non-Winged) of the North American Sprint Car Poll are authorized to vote every year for the purpose of honoring the top current achievers in the sport of sprint car racing from the ranks of sprint car drivers, owners, manufacturers, builders, mechanics, sponsors, promoters, officials and media members by current calendar year.
- II. VOTERS Only active and honorary members of the three voting panels, who have been active sprint car racing media members, promoters, sanctioning officials or builder/manufacturers for at least two (2) years, shall be eligible to vote. Voters on the North American Sprint Car Poll voting panel (i.e. media members), which honors the current achievers in the sport, may also be voters on the National Induction Committee, which honors the greatest achievers in the sport.
- III. **ELIGIBLE CANDIDATES** Candidates to be eligible for post-season award consideration in the North American Sprint Car Poll must meet the following requirements:
 - A. Individual must have been active as a sprint car racing driver, owner, builder, sponsor, mechanic, manufacturer, promoter, official or media member for the past racing season.
 - B. Individuals involved in the winged 358- and 360-cubic-inch sprint car divisions are eligible to be honored by the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll.
 - C. Individuals involved in the winged 410-cubic-inch sprint car division are eligible to be honored by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll.
 - D. Individuals involved in the non-winged sprint car divisions, regardless of cubic-inch engine displacement, are eligible to be honored by the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll.

IV. METHOD OF VOTING

- A. The North American Sprint Car Poll has a voting panel that shall consist of seventy-two (72) active and honorary sprint car racing media members, promoters, sanctioning officials, and builder/manufacturers who have accepted invitations to serve by the Executive Director of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation, Inc. The overall voting panel is divided as follows, with each member serving on one and only one sub-panel:
 - 1. North American 410 Sprint Car Poll voting panel 24 members
 - 2. North American 360 Sprint Car Poll voting panel 32 members
- 3. North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll voting panel 16 members B. The North American Sprint Car Poll voting panels shall nominate (on the

Nomination Ballot) and select (on the Final Ballot) eligible candidates according to the following sprint car racing categories:

1. Award Category (by each sub-panel):

a. Driver of the Year: Drivers.

b. Team of the Year: Owners, Mechanics.

- c. Promoter of the Year: Promoters, Sanctioning Officials.
- d. Media Member of the Year: Media Members.
- e. Builder/Manufacturer of the Year: Builders, Manufacturers.
- f. Rookie of the Year: Drivers that have not competed in this

division prior to July 1 of the

previous calendar year.

f. Wild Card: Drivers.

- 2. Award Category (by entire 72-member panel):
 - a. Outstanding Contribution to the Sport: Drivers, Owners, Mechanics, Promoters, Sanctioning Officials, Media Members, Builders, Manufacturers, and Sponsors that have never previously been selected for this award.
- C. The North American Sprint Car Poll voting panels shall nominate and select eligible candidates according to the following sprint car racing criteria:
 - 1. Award Category (by each sub-panel):
 - a. Driver of the Year: (see Section E).
 - b. Team of the Year:

The team who consistently and reliably maintained the most competitive sprint car operation.

c. Promoter of the Year:

The individual(s), representing a speedway, sanctioning body, or racing series, who has impacted sprint car racing the most by his/her/their outstanding promotional efforts.

d. Media Member of the Year:

The individual, representing the radio, television, video, digital or print media, who has impacted the public the most in his/her coverage of sprint car racing.

- e. Builder/Manufacturer of the Year:
 - The builder/manufacturer that has done the most to advance technology involved in sprint car racing.
- f. Rookie of the Year:

The driver, in his/her first full year of sprint car racing, who has shown the most potential for future competitiveness.

f. Wild Card:

The driver that has been most impressive with his/her exciting sprint car racing performances.

2. Award Category (by entire 72-member panel):

- a. Outstanding Contribution to the Sport: The individual(s) that has done the most to better the sport of sprint car racing (305, 360, 410, winged, non-winged, dirt, asphalt, sanctioned, open-competition).
- D. The duty of the Executive Director of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation shall be to prepare a Nomination Ballot seeking names of nominees in all award categories except Driver of the Year
- E. The duty of the Executive Director of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation shall be to prepare a Final Ballot consisting of all award categories, including Driver of the Year, whereby all members of each voting panel shall rank the Top 15 sprint car drivers in North America. All other award categories, including Outstanding Contribution to the Sport, list the most multi-nominated individuals, with three, four or five (choices) being the preferred number per category. Exceptions to the preferred number of nominees per category are made due to ties in the number of nominations.
- V. VOTING Voting shall be based upon the individual's performance in his/her occupational activity within the sport of sprint car racing during the current calendar year. Ties in final voting are allowed. With the Driver ranking (and the Driver of the Year selection), points are awarded on a 100-60-40-30-25-20-18-15-12-10-9-8-7-6-5 basis, with a driver's top score discarded.
- VI. **AUTOMATIC SELECTIONS** No automatic selections based on specific performances (i.e. point champion, race winner) shall be permitted.
- VII. TIME OF SELECTION The duly authorized representatives of the Foundation shall prepare, date and mail nomination ballots to each voter no later than the tenth day of November, and final ballots no later than the final day of November, of each year. The voter shall sign and return each completed ballot within ten (10) days.
- VIII. CERTIFICATION OF SELECTION RESULTS The results of the selection shall be certified by the Immediate Past President of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation and transmitted to the Executive Director, who shall release the results for publication no later than the fifteenth day of December.
- IX. **FINAL DECISION** The Executive Director reserves the right to make the final decision on all matters regarding the voting process.
- X. **AMENDMENTS** The Board of Directors of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation, Inc. reserves the right to revoke, alter or amend these rules at any time.