25th NSCHoF Induction Banquet on May 31 Taking Shape

Bobby Davis, Jr. (Herb Zieman/NSCHoF&M Collection)
Thursday, May 01, 2014 -

The twenty-fifth annual National Sprint Car Hall of Fame (NSCHoF) induction banquet, set for Saturday afternoon, May 31, is taking shape as 2014 inductees, family members, friends and special guests are beginning to confirm their attendance.  Historian Pat Sullivan will again emcee the affair which will be held in the Dyer-Hudson Hall on the Marion County Fairgrounds in Knoxville.

According to National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation executive director Bob Baker, “We know for a fact that Dave Argabright, Bobby Davis, Jr., Mark Kinser, ‘Windy’ McDonald and Chuck Merrill will all be here in-person to accept their honors.  In addition, we know that the family of deceased inductee George Nesler will be here to accept on behalf of their loved one and that we will have a representative here to accept on behalf of the late Larry Beckett’s family.  At this point, we are just not sure if Dave Blaney will be able to attend in-person this year or not, due to his racing commitments.  We also know that past inductees Ralph Capitani, Shane Carson, Larry Dickson, Ray Lee Goodwin, Karl Kinser, Lynn Paxton, Bob Trostle, Bobby Ward and others will be here this year.  Plus, Friday night will include a fun and informal special reception for past inductees on the museum’s second floor.  If you love sprint car racing and its history, you will want to join us in Knoxville on Friday, May 30, and Saturday, May 31.”

Those wishing to acquire twenty-five-dollar ($25) banquet tickets can contact museum administrative assistant Lori DeMoss at 1-800-874-4488 or via e-mail at ldemoss@sprintcarhof.com.